2014: A year for DOING.

Standard

2014 is the first year in my 23 years of living where I have this weird sense of freedom. For the first time in pretty much my entire life, I don’t have the obligation (for lack of a better word) of school to hold me back from doing the things I’ve dreamed. Life after college is a bit scary. If I’m being honest with myself, I still have no idea what I want to do career wise. I know what my interests are, but I can’t seem to pinpoint which career field I belong to. At this point in my life, the thought of working a 9-5 office job bores me to tears. So, that’s part of the reason why I found myself in Thailand, I suppose! I can’t really write about all of the little “life lessons” I’ve learned so far on this journey, but one thing I know is that whatever happens from here on out, life always has a funny way of working itself out. This year, I have forced myself to admit my faults, so that I don’t make the same mistakes in 2014. I can be a huge worry-wart when it comes to the future (my to do list is serious business), and in the past this has affected my day to day life, causing unnecessary stress. One of the best things you can do for yourself is to admit your weaknesses and work to improve your mental well being. No big change ever happens overnight but I’m proud of myself for taking the first big step.

This year is a year for doing. It’s too often that we daydream about how our lives could be instead of living them out. Wherever I decide to go in this next year, I’m going to make it happen. Long story short, I don’t just want to be a dreamer, I want to be a doer.

ImageImageImageImage

Resolutions for 2014:

  • Live simply.
  • Eat clean.
  • Stop worrying so much and just let things happen.
  • Love more. Don’t build unnecessary walls.
  • Do random good deeds for people & pay it forward.
  • Less time spent on Facebook and phone.
  • Travel (duh)
  • Don’t let fear get in the way.
  • Take up a new hobby — piano, soccer, kayaking, etc.
  • Read more.
  • Do something new once a week.
  • Volunteer.
  • Cut up credit cards and pay off debt. Don’t take more than you can afford, in other words.

Bucket List for 2014 (and beyond):

  • Volunteer at a music festival again.
  • Couch surf. Now that I’m more comfortable with traveling alone, this is the year to make it happen.
  • Camp and sleep under the stars.
  • Go on a motorbike ride for hours with no destination — CHECK, sort of.
  • Get LASIK and see more clearly. Contacts are a PITA (pain in the ass)
  • Send a message in a bottle.
  • Get fit and attempt to do yoga without breaking out into a total giggle fest. A clear mind and healthy body would do me good.
  • Give more, and expect less.
  • Visit NYC.
  • Road trip to Colorado and see a show at Red Rocks.
  • Learn a new language (already attempted French, but let’s face it — Spanish is more useful)
  • Visit Canada, Virgin Islands, Brazil, Peru, Mexico, Alaska, Hawaii, Cambodia, Myanmar, etc. (Ok, maybe I just need to make a separate travel bucket list….)
  • Visit Jennifer in Washington and Arex in Boston.
  • Volunteer at a hostel in Austin.
  • Try to make someone smile everyday.
  • Visit Jacobs Well in Wimberley.
  • See the Great Wall of China.
  • Move to South America.
  • See Macchu Picchu (sp?)
Leave a Reply

